Ehlanzeni District Municipality (DC32)

Geography, History & Economy
Ehlanzeni District Municipality comprises:

Bushbuckridge Local Municipality
City of Mbombela Local Municipality
Nkomazi Local Municipality
Thaba Chweu Local Municipality
MDB code: DC32

Description: The Ehlanzeni District Municipality is a Category C municipality situated in the north-east of the Mpumalanga Province. It makes up just over a third of the province’s geographical area. The district is comprised of four local municipalities: Bushbuckridge, City of Mbombela, Nkomazi and Thaba Chweu.
 Mbombela (previously Nelspruit) is the capital of Mpumalanga, situated in the City of Mbombela Local Municipality, which is also the home of the Mpumalanga Provincial Government and, as a result, is the most concentrated economic hub within the province.
 It features three border gates to both Swaziland and Mozambique (Matsamo, Komatipoort and Mananga border gates) and, therefore, movement of people from neighbouring countries to the district, and from Gauteng to either Swaziland or Mozambique, creates a catalyst for the economic life of the area.

Area: 27 896km²

Cities/Towns: Barberton, Emoyeni, Entokozweni, Graskop, Hazyview, Kaapschehoop, Kabokweni, Kanyamazane, Komatipoort, Luphisi, Lydenburg, Malalane, Marloth Park, Mashishing, Matsulu, Mbombela, Mpakeni, Msogwaba, Ngodwana, Pilgrim’s Rest, Sabie, Sabie Park, Skukuza, Tekwane, White River

Main Economic Sectors: Community services (44.5%), trade (44%), financial and real estate (43.1%), construction (41%), transport (37.5%), agriculture (35.5%), manufacturing (19.6%), mining (6%), utilities (2.8%), electricity (2%)